dedications


January '06 Mix

You have no idea how grateful I am, gentle readers, for all your comments, emails, links, and support that I received after my days gone by entry. You truly are some good friends, online and off, and keeping my friends in mind was the whole point of that entry. So January's Mix is dedicated to you, gentle readers. Now, I know, it is no longer January by a long shot ... but I picked most of the songs in January with you individuals listed in mind anyway, and then things came up and I got a job and it never got posted. But now, after all you kids have done for me lately, I want you to know how I feel. Don't worry, I have a February Mix in mind already too, so we wont be skipping any months.. I know you were about to panic there.

By the way, I had suspected, but it was recently brought to my attention, that I don't make it very clear that all the music from my mixes or song posts are available for immediate download right from my site. If you hadn't realized it before, you can go back on the monthly mix links at the left and download the music I talk about by right-clicking the name of the song (underlined) and choose Save As. This will download the music file (mp3 format) to your computer. You can then play it with Windows Media Player which comes with all PCs or download other music players like Winamp. I hope this clears up any confusion. Feel free to ask for more details. Also, all my mixes are designed to fit on an 80 minute cd if you like to burn them and play it in your car or whatever.

Now, about the dedications... if you don't see your name on the list, it's not because I don't appreciate you as a friend and a reader. I just probably don't know you are a reader. So feel free to leave comments so I know you are here, I can read your blog if you have one, I can get to know you, I can get to know your musical tastes, and so on. We're not alone in the world, and the blogosphere has proved it to me. If you are on the list, my thanks to you again. I hope I can brighten your day. But also keep in mind that probably not every word applies or reminds me of you... but the ideas and feelings and the song in general does. So if there's a line about love or something, it doesn't necessarilly mean I have a secret crush on you or anything. Stuff like that. Got it? Guys are not complicated, so don't read into things, ok? Thanks. This one's for you!

Dedications
songs that remind me of you

To Dembrat
1. Julian Coryell - Did You See The Sun (3:44)

Angie, I remember when we saw Mason Jennings and you were all blissed out, especially during "Butterflies", bouncing and singing along. The singer here has a tiny bit of Mason-Jennings-ness going on with his voice, but mostly, I am including it for you because it's such an uplifting song to me. And there are times when I'm sure you could use some uplifting. So many of your beautiful, poetic posts have that 'quiet desperation' quality to them, what with the 'rentals to deal with and your boy stuff and everything else I don't know about. But lately I hope things are turning up, with the new job, finishing up with school, moving out on your own, and so on. So play this song and let it take you to that place where the sun was shining and everything thing was good and maybe it will be again soon. Maybe it is already!

i never know what to give you,
you seem so sad.
i think you know that i love you,
or am i mad?
if there's a way i could help you,
you know i would

if i could reach you

did you see the sun today
and feel it on your face?
did you know that everything
will fall back in to palce?

you come around

you've suffered over and over,
like everyone.
instead of coming together,
you come undone.
rains fallin harder and harder
but that could chage

if i could reach you

To Caleb
2. Jupiter and Teardrop - Bring Me Down (4:57)

You know you are my best bud ever. We've been there for eachother since we were kids and it completely ruins me when I think of how we've kind of grown apart now. What happened to us and where are you? It's like you're lost and floundering, thinking you've got no one on your side, but it's not true. It kills me to think that you're on your way out but I wont let it happen. I'm determined not to. We're going to make things right.

i wont let you bring me down anymore

To LaughingRose
3. The Sugarcubes - Birthday - 02 - F-----g in Rhythm and Sorrow (3:10)*

Rose, you were one of the first people I shared my Bj�rk obsession with, all those years ago. No one else quite understood but you. Whenever I hear this song I get this big smile and I think of you singing the line about the naked man eating strawberry cake. You loved this song when most people scoffed at me. Thanks for not scoffing.

a divorced lady arrives home from a bar,
guess what she sees is there?
there is a naked person in my flat!
he's got a weird expression on his face!
oh my god and jesus as well,
what are you doing there?
are you hurting your chest?
offending yourself?
forcing yourself into pain like there is no tommorow?!
you should use the pain and sorrow
to fill you up with power,
life's both sweet and sour!
he looks at me hopeless with tears in his eyes,
goes out of the window and up on the roof.
naked man, naked man, come down,
i'll give you some strawberry cake,
don't act like there is no tomorrow,
you should use that pain and sorrow
to fill you up with power!
life's both sweet and sour.
tak'i takt & trega. ja!

*This is Bj�rk from one of her bands before she went solo. Despite the title, there are no explicit lyrics in the song.

To Ben
4. Ben Kweller - Ice Ice Baby (1:50)

This one reminds me of the good times, Ben. Now, you are completely gone from my life and doing your own thing. If you ever come back to your friends and family, we'd love to make some more good memories. Like remeber when I gave you this CD and said 'Listen to this. I think it's just your style.' And you loved it, remember? You learned Kweller's cover of this Vanilla Ice song and would play it at parties and crack us all up. And I remember your voice sounding just as terrible as Ben Kweller's voice, but that made it all the more hilarious. I still play this one and remember the good times, Ben.

stop, colaborate and listen,
BKs back with my brand new invention,
something grabs ahold of me tightly,
flowin like a harpoon daily and nightly.

would it ever stop, yo I dont know,
turn on the light and I'll glow,
to the extreme I rock the mic like a vandal,
light up the stage and watch me jump like a candle,
damn, well I'm kickin that boon,
I'm poisonus like a poisonus mushroom.
if there is a problem I will solve it.
check out the hook while my dj revolves it.
Ice, Ice, baby too cold to hold.
Ice, Ice, baby too cold to hold.

Rollin in my gray volvo,
with the ragtop down so my hair can blow,
girlies on standby waitin just to say hi,
did I stop?, No I just rode bye

Should I stop, hey I dont know,
turn on the light and I'll glow,
to the extreme I rock the mic like a vandal,
light up the stage and watch me jump like a candle,
damn, well I'm kickin that boon,
I'm poisonus like a poisonus mushroom.
if there is a problem baby I will solve it.
check out the hook while my dj revolves it.
Ice, Ice, baby too cold to hold.
Ice, Ice, baby too cold to hold.

Dr Dre aint got nothin on me,
or the snoop d. o. double g.

To Fallen9Angel
5. Flogging Molly - Swagger - 01 - Salty Dog (AKA: A Song For The 12 Year Old Irish Girl In All Of Us) (2:21)

Hey Bro, I'm sure you already have this song, since I've seen you quote Flogging Molly on your site, but this song is my favorite of theirs and I thought of it for you right away. Its original title and the lyrics are so desperate and harsh, but the commonly used title and the feeling of the song is so fun and uplifting. It's the perfect song to help you remember that life doesn't always have to be pain and misery and seriousness. I mean, that seriousness in your writing drew me to your site in the first place. But sometimes I need to remind myself that life can be good and fun and not so serious. That there's a 12 year old Irish girl in me. I hope there is still one in you too.

I'll wait for you till I turn blue
There's nothin' more a man can do
Don't get your bollocks in a twist
Settle down, don't take a fit
Ya drank with demons straight form Hell
They almost nearly won as well
Ya wiped the floor with victory
Then puked until you fell asleep

Blackened was the banshee's wail
These boot will never fill her jail
So you crawled into an empty boat
For the Gulf of Mexico
Till Cortez came an' when so did you
From the ashes charred and blue
Smellin' like a Salty Dog
Back from Hell where you belong

Anarchy, the scourge of every sea
The Antichrist aboard a rig
With us your cutthroat thieves
The ship went down we all near drowned
Ya stood there on the deck
Till the Spanish came and flogged yer arse
And dragged you from the wreck

They threw a rope around yer neck
To watch you dance the jig of death
Then left ya for the starvin' crows
Hoverin' like hungry whores
One flew down plucked out yer eye
The other he had in his sights
Ya snarled at him, said leave me be
I need the bugger so I can see

To Jourdan
6. The George W Bush Singers - Deep Thoughts Part II (2:22)

This song immediately struck me as the song for you, Jourdan. It's got that fun, retro, Herb Alpert feel, plus it's hilarious. This band takes some of the incredibly stupid things that George W Bush says and makes a song out of it. That's right up your alley. Enjoy!!

"You're working hard to put food on your family."

To Liquid-Mojo
7. Mark Mallman - Hardcore Romantics (3:45)

Derrick, not to reduce you to your mojo, because I know there's a lot more to you than that, but how can I listen to this song and NOT be reminded of you?

we can be romantic baby
hardcore
hardcore
romantics

To Adam & Vania
8. Cibo Matto - Red Hot & Latin: Silencia = Muerte - 11 - �guas de Marco (3:17)

Vania, I will always remember you singing this around the house before the wedding. I put it on and you were shocked that I had some traditional Portugese music that you had grown up listening to in Chile. It is the cutest song, and always brings up happy memories of you guys. I miss you! I'm dying to come visit you across the country. But until then, we'll play this song and remember.

�guas de Marco Waters of March
� pau � pedra It's wood, it's stone
� o fim do caminho It's the end of the road
� o resto do toco It's the rest of the stump
� o pouco sozinho It's a little alone
� um caco de vidro It's a sliver of glass
� a vida, � o sol It is life, it's the sun
� a noite � a morte It is night, it is death
� o la�o � o anzol It's a trap, it's the bait
� peroba do campo It's a view of the field
N� na madeira The knot in the wood
Caing�, candeia a bell, a lamp
� matita-pereira It's the matita-pereira tree
� madeira de vento It's wood of the wind
Tombo da ribanceira Falls of the river bank
� o mist�rio profundo It's the profound mystery
� o queira no queira It's the want in the don't want
� um vento ventando It's the wind blowing free
� o fim da ladeira It's the end of a slope
� a viga � o v�o It's the beam, it's a void
Festa da cumeeira Ridge beam festival
� a chuva chovendo It's the rain coming down
A conversa ribeira The riverbank talks
Das �guas do mar�o of the waters of march
� o fim da canseira It's the end of the strain
� o p� � o ch�o It's the foot, It's the ground
� a marcha estradeira It's the beat of the road
Passarinho na m�o Small bird in the hand
Pedra de atiradeira A slingshot stone
Uma ave no c�u A bird in the sky
Uma ave no ch�o A bird on the ground
� um regato, � uma fonte it's a creek, it's a fountain
� um peda�o de p�o it's a piece of bread
� o fundo do po�o It's the bed of the well
� o fim do caminho It's the end of the road
no rosto desgosto The dismay in the face
� um pouco sozinho It's a little alone
� um estrepe � um prego It's a tip, It's a nail
� uma ponte um ponto It's a bridge, its a point
� um pingo pingando It's the drop dripping
� uma conta, um canto It's an account, a story
� um peixe, um gesto It's a fish, a gesture
� uma prata brilhando It's the silvery glow
� a luz da manh� It's the soft morning light
� o tijolo chegando It's the brick arriving
� a lenha, � o dia It's the firewood, It's the day
� o fim da picada It's the end of the trail
� a garrafa de cana It's the bottle of liquor
Estilha�o na estrada Splinter in the road
� o projeto da casa It's the plans of the house
� o corpo na cama It's the body in bed
� o carro engui�ado It's the broken car
� a lama, � a lama It's the mud, It's the mud
� um passo, uma ponte It's a footstep, it's a bridge
� um sapo � uma r� It's a toad, it's a frog
� um resto de mato It's the rest of thicket
na luz da manh� in the light of the morning
S�o as �guas de mar�o They are the waters of march
fechando o ver�o closing the summer
� promessa de vida It's the promise of life
no teu cora��o in your heart
� uma cobra, um pau It's a snake, a stick
� Jo�o, � Jos� It's John, It's Joseph
� um espinho na mau It's a thorn in your hand
� um corte no p� It's the cut on your foot
S�o as �guas de mar�o They are the waters of march
fechando o ver�o closing the summer
� a promessa de vida It's the promise of life
no teu cora��o in your heart
� um passo uma ponte It's a footstep, a bridge
� um sapo � uma r� It's a toad, it's a frog
� um belo horizonte It's the beautiful horizon
� uma febre ter�� Its the third fever
S�o as �guas de mar�o They are the waters of march
fechando o ver�o closing the summer
� a promesa da vida It's the promise of life
no teu cora��o in your heart



To Adman
9. Will Young - Don't Cha (Pussycat Dolls Cover) (3:53)

Dude, I don't know why you're getting this song. I can't even remember if you were the one I talked with about the Pussycat Dolls ... but "Don't Cha" just love that song? I mean, the video with the Dolls all jumping around and the main brunette being all hott... man, I love 'em. But I'm including the Will Young version which is very jazzy and stuff. What I don't get is why he didn't change the gender references from 'girlfriend' to 'boyfriend'. It would have worked better. But a good song nonetheless. The kind of song I think you would like, buddy. Let me know.

To Tirell
10. Jamie Cullum - Twentysomething - 15 - Frontin' (5:38)

T, this one is so your style. Admit it. Jamie Cullum is an awesome young jazz pianist who does Radiohead and Jeff Buckley covers and lots of modern stuff. "Twentysomething" is an awesome album. And standout on it is his cover of Jay-Z and Pharrell's "Frontin'". Frontin' reminds me of you, T, being all cool and street, but the jazz piano cover of it fits your mature, sophisticated side pefectly.

don't wanna sound full of myselfaroo

To Star
11. Kings Of Convenience - I'd Rather Dance With You (3:29)

Hey Smashley, you should know that you are my very favorite girl to dance with. Salsa, Swing, Step, Swaying... no one else is as fun. Now, granted, the real lyrics are "I'd rather dance than talk with you" as if I don't want to talk to you, but that's not true. I love talking to you too. But the "I'd rather dance with you" part is what I'm trying to say. Ash, you are the best dancer around, period.

i'd rather dance than talk with you
so why don't we just move into the other room
space for us to shake in here - i like this tune
even if i could hear what you said
i doubt my reply would be interesting for you to hear
because i haven't read a single book for years
and the only film i saw, i didn't like it all

the music's too loud and the noise from the crowd
increases the chance of misinterpretation
so let your hips do the talking
i'll make you laugh by acting like the guy who sings
you'll make me smile by really getting into the swing

To Puter-Chique
12. Raining Jane - Both Hands (Ani DiFranco Cover)(3:28)

Rae, I know you have and love this one already. But I am dedicating it to you anyway because when I play it now, I think, "Hey, this song is rad. Rae likes it too. That is neat." And I think it applies, being about, as far as I can tell, Ani's intimacy with someone. And not that we are intimate in that way ;) but I think out of all my friends and acquaintences, you know me the best. Whatever I have to say, I know you will understand. And whatever you have to say, I know will be something interesting and insighful. I don't have that with almost anyone else. So thank you.

To Gumphood
13. Final Fantasy - Took You Two Years To Win My Heart (3:58)

Gump, even though you said you don't like music or don't respect it as art or something in one of your entries, I'm posting another Final Fantasy track for you because you mentioned liking the last one about Canada from the last mix. Here's another good one from them. The whole CD's good actually, if you can find it anywhere. Probably only online as no physical stores I've asked have it even in their database available to order. So, yes, music taste is subjective and therefore subject to opinion, but that doesn't invalidate it. That doesn't mean there is no good music. You just have to decide if anyone else's opinion is worth listening to. And let me tell you, mine is. ;)

took you two years to win my heart
and two words to break it

they say heartbreak is good for the skin
but all that it's helped is my drinking

To Acornotravez
14. Eva Cassidy - Time After Time (4:00)

Acorn, I know 'Time After Time' is a special song for you. I don't know if you have Eva Cassidy's version, but it's my very favorite version of the song. Cassidy was a tremendous young artist who sang with more soul and feeling than artists twice her age. In 1996, she passed away at age 33. I hope that despite your loss, you can draw some comfort from this song and know that you have people you can look to for support.

lying in my bed I hear the clock tick,
and think of you
caught up in circles confusion--
is nothing new
flashback--warm nights--
almost left behind
suitcases of memories,
time after--

sometimes you picture me--
I'm walking too far ahead
you're calling to me, I can't hear
what you've said--
Then you say--go slow--
I fall behind--
the second hand unwinds

if you're lost you can look--and you will find me
time after time
if you fall I will catch you--i'll be waiting
time after time

after my picture fades and darkness has
turned to gray
watching through windows--you're wondering
if I'm OK
secrets stolen from deep inside
the drum beats out of time--

To TOP
15. Ani DiFranco - Out of Range - 10 - You Had Time (5:49)

I'm sure a major frustration for you over the last few weeks, Talia, has been me. I don't have an explanation. Or a confession. This is all I have to say.

how can I go home
with nothing to say
I know you're going to look at me that way
and say 'what did you do out there?'
and 'what did you decide?'
'you said you needed time
and you had time'

you are a china shop
and I am a bull
you are really good food
and I am full
I guess everything is timing
I guess everything's been said
so I am coming home with an empty head

you'll say 'did they love you or what?'
I'll say 'they love what I do'
'the only one who really loves me is you'
and you'll say 'girl did you kick some butt?'
and I'll say 'I don't really remember
but my fingers are sore
and my voice is too'

you'll say 'it's really good to see you'
you'll say 'I missed you horribly'
you'll say 'let me carry that
give that to me'
and you will take the heavy stuff
and you will drive the car
and I'll look out the window making jokes
about the way things are

how can I go home
with nothing to say
I know you're going to look at me that way
and say 'what did you do out there?'
and 'what did you decide?'
'you said you needed time
and you had time
'

To Estacionamiento
16. Sam Phillips - Reflecting Light (3:17)

Stace, I love you like my little sister. I'm so happy for your wedding coming up. Here's Luke and Loralai's first dance from Liz's wedding. I thought it was more fitting than Max and Liz's last dance, even though that was a really good song too. Both remind me of you.

Now that I've worn out, I've worn out the world
I'm on my knees in fascination
Looking through the night
And the moons never seen me before
But I'm reflecting light

I wrote the pain down
Got off and looked up
Looked into your eyes
The lost open windows
All around
My dark heart lit up the skies

And now that I've worn, I've worn out the world
I'm on my knees in fascination
Looking through the night
And the moons never seen me before
But I'm reflecting light

Give up the ground
Under your feet
Hold on to nothing for good
Turn and run at the mean times
Chasing you
Stand alone and misunderstood

And now that I've worn, I've worn out the world
I'm on my knees in fascination
Looking through the night
And the moons never seen me before
But I'm reflecting light

To Ana
17. Gillian Welch - Dear Someone (3:11)

Here's a country love song for you Ana, but it doesn't sound at all country so I can like it too. You can sing it to your new you-know-who. ;)

I want to go all over the world
And start living free
I know that there's somebody who
Is waiting for me
I'll build a boat, steady and true
As soon as it's done
I'm going to sail along in the dreams
Of my dear someone

One little star, smiling tonight
Knows where you are
Stay, little star, steady and bright
To guide me afar
Blow, little wind, over the deep
For now I've begun
Hurry and take me straight into the arms
Of my dear someone
Hurry and take me straight into the arms
Of my dear someone

To Beckers-J
18. Urban Species - Serve Chilled - Blanket (feat. Imogen Heap) (5:47)

Hey Becks. I don't know exactly what kind of music you like yet, besides the Waltz for a Night... so I'm picking something that I like. Anything Imogen Heap (of Frou Frou) touches is gold to me. It is on here for you because it is very cool and sexy and all about being yourself and honest. You seem very open about everything and I like that. Enjoy.

i see only what i wanna see
i'll be only what i wanna be
my blanket covers me

To Clarity
19. The Verve - Bittersweet Symphony (James Lavelle Remix) (5:50)

Clarity, no one I read has gone through so much drama and retained such a positive attitude. I hope through all your woes that you can continue to find bright spots in life. Your husband, your family, your friends and readers, good memories, songs like Bittersweet Symphony. I know the original means a lot to you and I don't claim that this version at all comes close, but I thought it was very cool and that you should hear it.

Well I never pray
But tonight I'm on my knees
I need to hear some sounds that recognize the pain in me
I let the melody shine, let it cleanse my mind, I feel free now
But the airways are clean
and there's nobody singing to me now

I'll take you down the only road I've ever been down

To Kiosh
20. Bj�rk - Post Caras B - You Only Live Twice (4:21)

Kiosh, this one goes to my fellow Bj�rkophile because it seems to fit you. You might have it already, I don't know. It's on a Post single but it was originally inteded for the James Bond flick of the same name only they went with Nancy Sinatra's version.

You Only Live Twice or so it seems,
One life for yourself and one for your dreams.
You drift through the years and life seems tame,
Till one dream appears and love is its name.

And love is a stranger who'll beckon you on,
Don't think of the danger or the stranger is gone.

This dream is for you, so pay the price.
Make one dream come true, you only live twice.

And love is a stranger who'll beckon you on,
Don't think of the danger or the stranger is gone.

Also deserving of a dedication:

MrMattMatt, Harmony, Simone
Do you guys still read me?

Luna, GolfWidow, Cacophic
Sorry, I don't quite know you well enough yet to know what to dedicate for you. Maybe next time. =)

Ok everybody. Hope you enjoy! And feel free to try other people's dedication songs too. They're all good stuff, I think.


Posted by heydomsar
2006-02-08

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.