can't you see that all that stuff's a sideshow

Concert Review

Imogen Heap
(of Frou Frou)
5/24/2006
The Rave, Milwaukee

or 'Can't You See That All That Stuff's A Sideshow'


'I just have to kiss you... Try. And. Stop. Me!'

A while ago, in mock anger, I blogged about my jealousy of other bloggers I had read who were attending these amazing concerts in their hometowns, seeing artists Milwaukee had never heard of, much less offered in venues. Foremost was Imogen Heap. I believe I said I'd give my left ventricle to see her. Well fortunately it didn't come to that.

"Imi" finally decided to grace Milwaukee with a talent we don't usually get afforded, and a quirky intimacy I had never quite experienced before. It was obvious this show would be different when we first arrived. See, in Milwaukee, there's not many venues, so if you're a rock band, but not big enough for an arena, you go to The Rave. It's a grungy old building downtown which I pretty much grew up in. I followed each of my musical phases there, seeing ska shows and then punk shows and swing shows and rock shows and techno shows and folk shows and mellower rock shows and indie shows and now Imogen. But before Imogen, The Rave was always just this grungy, dark room with sticky, empty floors where mosh pits form and never before has the word "ambiance" or "atmosphere" been uttered.

Until Wednesday night, when we walked in to some sort of French Caf�.

She had filled the room with small, round tables and candles. �CANDLES! �at The Rave! This was shocking. The room was also lit by white fairy-lights and colored rope-lights and more subtle lighting in the balcony. Besides spotlights on the stage, no one else playing at The Rave had ever dared light the room any brighter than absolutely necessary. But Imogen created an atmosphere out of the entire place, not just the stage. When she walked on to the stage, we cheerily welcomed her, but somehow her demeanor felt like she was welcoming us.

Of course, there is no way to describe what she looked like that night. To give you a rough idea, she had on a pink flapper-style dress with an apron over the skirt and a white fur stole draped over her shoulders. She also had her hair done-up high in a style that can only be called her own. Oh, and in honor of Rae who couldn't be there with us, Imogen was wearing long, stretchy, pink gloves from her elbows to her palms, with her fingers free to fiddle with her instruments.

And fiddle she did. Although not at first. She started with "Just For Now" from Speak For Yourself -- with just her and a microphone. This initially scared me because, although I knew Imogen wasn't touring with Guy Sigsworth together as "Frou Frou", I wasn't sure I was ready for 2 hours of a single a capella singer. But I was quickly eased when Imogen started playing with her digital looping machine, creating harmonies and loops and beats with her own voice and claps. Suddenly, Just For Now (live version) sounded more full and resonant than it does on the record, which for not having other musicians with her, is quite a feat.

When she stepped over to her keyboards and Apple laptop and a few other instruments I didn't even recognize, her music got richer with bass loops and drum tracks, and she was even accompanied by a live cellist on a couple tracks, but above all was her unique voice. She's still most touching when she simply layers her voice and sings like no other artist, tapping into something shared and intimate within her voice and all of our souls. As she pushed buttons and pedals, she would explain how things worked and what each effect did and demo each new noise for us. And in her soft, mumbly tone, we couldn't help but feel like we were all invited in to her living room. She wasn't so much performing for us, as showing us her cool toys and demonstrating a new effect she created for her cat. In her garbled, British accent, it seemed like she was almost asking us, "Can I get you anything? A spot of tea? Please, sit there, I want to show you how 'Breathe In' sounds with a chorus of my voice and a xylophone. Do you like it?" Yes, Imogen. We like it a lot.

For smaller shows, The Rave gives you 2 drink tickets with your admission, so when it was time for me to grab a quick drink from the bar, I almost felt like I should excuse myself and tell Imogen I'd be right back. In hindsight, I realize I should have just skipped the drinks and enjoyed the show, because when I entered the adjoining room, I saw my ex-love across the bar. I should have known she'd drive 4 hours to see one of her favorite artists, but I just hadn't thought of her in serveral months, so it never occurred to me. It felt like we had something to say to eachother, but I knew that after 11 months since the last time I'd seen her -- the day I asked for the ring back and threw it in the lake -- that there was nothing left worth saying. So a little dumbstruck, I walked back to my group with a couple beers and a heavy heart. I hate to admit that the rest of the concert was tainted with meloncholy memories and stupid worries about where she's sitting and distracting thoughts that had no place at such a magical show, during an evening that seemed so personal and special, like a gift from someone I adore. But thankfully, that person I adore quickly helped me forget my woes with her softer, stripped down version of 'Let Go' (Garden State version), and then finishing her set with 'Hide & Seek.' I've told you about Hide & Seek before in one of my mixes, but if you haven't checked it out before, try it now, or you're doing yourself a major disservice. Live, she sang the song a cappella as well, but actually used a keytar to control the vocoder. Yes. A keytar. Remember the keytar from cheesy 80's bands or Saved By The Bell? They had that keyboard on a strap that you would wear over your shoulder like a guitar? Imogen used one to synthesize digital copies of her voice in different keys. And somehow, there was nothing cheesy about it. It allowed her the freedom to dance around the stage creating the Frou Frou of her band's namesake (Frou Frou being the French onomatopoeia for the swishing noise made by skirts on dancing women).

Always the cutie, when she finished her set and walked off stage, we clapped for her to come back and play an encore, but most of us could see that she was only hiding behind one of the speakers on the side of the stage and bouncing around like a little girl for a minute or two, before she waltzed back to her instruments and gave us 3 more songs. And whenever she would take a sip of something or clear her throat, she made these endearing little squeaks and silly noises with her lips and you couldn't help but find her adorable . Adorable, but talented. Unlike many artists who use synthesized instruments, she wasn't tied down to the pre-programming. She took requests, and improvised, and frequently started over whenever she felt the song hadn't started like she'd liked. All adding to the feeling that we're just popping in for a visit at Imogen's apartment. An amazing apartment of a dear friend who is excited to share a song she made up just for us.


Posted by heydomsar
2006-05-27

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.