A Very Merry Unbirthday

One week ago was my 27th and a half birthday, thanks for noticing.

Despite the lack of official recognition in the blagosphere of my fateful half-birthday, I did receive two gifts:

Two gray hairs.

I neither asked for these gifts nor appreciated them, really... but it's the thought that counts. Right?

Now go ahead and tell me how you've been finding gray hairs since you were twelve, or how you're 50 and still haven't been blessed with any, or how you're the ripe age of 21 and don't expect any signs of old age for at least another decade. Really. Go ahead. I hate you all the same.

No, sorry. That was harsh. I don't hate you, pumpkins. Just frustrated here. Not even about the gray hairs thing. It's "distinguished", right? Getting salt and peppery in my late 20s is just a sign of testosterone changes or something, right? Nothing to worry about.

But the accompanying changes in my personality are what's upsetting me. I can't stay up through the late night talks shows anymore without falling asleep during lunch the next day. After work I don't want to go out, I want to go home and read a book. Out to eat after the 7:00 meeting?

I'm exhausted. Leave me alone.

I'm resigned as a bachelor. I'm resigned as a failed musician. I'm resigned as an office drone. I'm resigned as a bad friend. I'm resigned to my goals fading away from me faster than it takes for you to nod off while trying to read this whiny entry.

Basically, you're as old as you feel and I feel old.


I need to do more of the things that make me feel young. I need to spend more time with the people that make me feel young. But I need help figuring out what those things are and with whom. What crazy things do you do that make you feel alive? Who do you do them with?


Here's a photo-set of a recent trip to a big Corn Maze outside of Madison.

The pile of tractor tires was the best part!
I got to act like a kid

Cornflake Girls.
With people who are young at heart

She got my car, so I'm just returning the favor.
And then we goofed around, messing with each other's cars.


That made me forget that I feel old. Any other suggestions?



Posted by heydomsar
2007-11-28

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.