how to be pretentious - part 2

november �05 mix

So this is the second part of the How To Be Pretentious volumes. There�s enough unknown indie in my stacks for several more editions, but we�ll see what December brings and what mood i�m in then. November feels very acoustic to me. The fall leaves shedding and friends around bonfires and fireplace book-reading all put me in a mood that�s hard to define but it includes fun, happy, jumpiness� contemplation about my personality and what�s wrong with it... a little flirty, randyness... some sadder introspection... some silly goofing around... a lot of tea... and an excellent damien rice cover. It just feels "acoustic" to me. There's no real progression of emotion here or anything... we're going to jump around a bit because that's just how my month has gone.


How To Be Pretentious
the best songs no one's ever heard.
-disk two: "acoustic"

1. Shelby Lynne - Suit Yourself - 01 - Go With It (2:57)
For those days when you're walking through the city in the warm sun and the brisk breeze, and the streets are crowded but suddenly you just have to jog. You almost skip. It's a quick little stroll with a beat in your head, and you pass through the people like they're part of the scenery. You jump off a bench and wink at an old man with a cane. Then you race someone's dog down the street while the owner trying to walk him chases behind. You stop for a little baby who's offering you his ice cream cone and so you pick it up, poke your nose in it a little and make him giggle as he takes the cone back and pushes his own face into it. You help pick up a lady's belongings and she smiles her thanks and you put your cap on her head, and even though she looks rediculous now she can't help but thank you again as you skip away.
That's this song, on repeat for as long as I can stand it.

you just go with it, you know it feels good.

2. Ed Harcourt - Apple Of My Eye (3:06)
This one made the list because the video is adorable. Ed sings the song to his cat -- a fuzzy brown mess that you can tell is his best friend. As they roll on the floor together you start to notice these are flashbacks as he's staring at pictures of his little buddy. Eventually he's running through the streets calling and searching for the Apple Of His Eye. When he happens upon the rest of the band, they are dressed as firemen and have a ladder at a tree where Ed climbs up and rescues the mangy kitten-mutt with a tear in his eye, or mine, I can't remember.

i reached a low, don't you know?
you're the apple of my eye
and i fell in love, with this soul
no matter how i try

3. Asleep in the Sea - Dance On (4:33)
You know your best friend? Yeah, he's cool. You know how when he puts on that one weezer album, how that means, like, he's bummed about something? And you can be all, "hey let's talk about it" but he'd be all, "man, it's nothing" and so what you do is, you just sing along to the weezer song with him, and when the chorus starts up, you just have to belt it out as loud as you can. And then he gets that stupid grin and starts belting out the chorus too, but he sings the one part with the one guy and you sing the other part and you go into a high little girly voice, and man does it sound awful. But pretty soon you are both cracking up so hard that he doesn't even remember what the beef was that made him feel crappy. And when the song is done, he puts his hand on your shoulder and says, "thanks man."

that kid can be a violent son of a @#$!%
hey man, i'm sorry to hear that
it's cool, sometimes i just gotta vent
hey man, that's what i'm here for
you're a pal
you deserve it
i'm #@$%^ed up
forget about it
i can't
why not?
i just can't
alright, let's go
where we headed?
to the party
where's it at?
who knows
not me

we could tie him up to his tree.....
we could build wood up to his knees.....
....ahhh....ahhh....ahhh....

dance on
dance on
a dead man's ashes

(explicit lyric warning)

4. Brent Palmer - Asleep In The Back (3:32)
there's an ashtray on my window
it's been there for half a year
and i feel it in my marrow
words are somber, full of cheer
but inside, the record's turnin'
needle skips on every song
just like children who are learnin'
how to fight and get along

i'm asleep in the back

I get those moments when I just don't feel good enough. When I mess up or I never even tried. When I don't get it and I don't get along. But that doesn't make me not good enough for anyone. Because you have those moments just like I do. And that's comforting.

"I can sleep now, knowing you, are are asleep in the back here with me too."

5. Amy Rigby - Why Do I (4:26)
But no, wait. Then there are the truly truly messed up people. And sadly, the ones with the most issues are the ones that don't want to do anything about it. Like Amy Rigby, they wonder, "Why did I do that?" As if they are not in control of their own actions. They sing their remorse in songs like this but they don't take any positive steps to change or trust anyone to help. This song will forever embody them, and their remorse, and their refusal to improve. The song's narrator is so pathetic it just ends up being funny.

looks sweet, but deep inside i'm awful
i'm colder than a frozen waffle....
i'm always searchin' for the rip in the silver lining
here it is.
i'm bruised from being so downtrodden
i'm just a peach that's going rotten
i wanna save the other peaches
so i roll away
i'm careful where i land
does anybody understand?

why do i pull wings off butterflies
look for things that hurt my eyes
i kiss the boys, but i'm the one who cries
why do i get off on misery
loneliness feels good to me
i'm happy when i'm all hung out to dry
why do i?

(explict lyric warning)

6. Abra Moore - Family Affair (4:32)
And then there are definately those out there that are sincerely interested in being the best version of themselves. In being part of a relationship that encourages and supports. In fact, I'd venture to say that most people out there work towards self-improvement and relationship-building. This song is similar to the last, in that it is about reflecting on your own imperfections and mistakes and fights and break-ups, but different in that it seems to convey a sincere desire to change for the better.

i sleep all day, it makes me feel this way
and everything's a bust, and everything keeps losing my trust
where do we begin, in this unhappy ending?
where do we begin, after all that we've done?
and how do we begin to say, i forgive you?
and how do we begin to repair, this family affair?

i think about the never-ending way that my day never seems to wanna end
i think about the loneliness of losing my friend
don't take it away, from me
don't take it away, the one love that matters
and i'll get well, you'll see
you're all i have, you're my family

is this ever enough love, ever enough
where do we begin, picking up the pieces?
where do we begin, after all that's been said?
and how do we begin to say, i still love you?
and how do we begin to repair this family affair?

7. Beth Nielsen Chapman - trying to love you (3:35)
blew out all my plans, the world fell in my hands
the day that i began, tryin' to love you

the secrets i have kept, the nights i haven't slept
i've laughed until i've wept, tryin' to love you
tryin' to love you, no one's come as close or gone so far
tryin' to love you, i've lost and found myself in who you are
tryin' to love you, so easy and so hard
tryin' to love you
i've watched myself get stuck, i've squandered all my luck
i've almost given up, tryin' to love you

tryin' to love you, broke my heart it's chipped away my pride
tryin' to love you, everytime i see that fault line slide
tryin' to love you, crossed the great divide
tryin' to love you

tryin' to love you, i've screamed your name, i've slammed a thousand doors
tryin' to love you, i've worn a million miles across the floor
tryin' to love you, still i could not ignore
tryin' to love you
it's pulled the best from me, for all the world to see
and i will always be, tryin' to love you

But in the end, even those that work the hardest at it, find that relationships are still difficult. That both parties are faulty and flawed, and beautiful and worth it.

8. Eileen Rose-Good Man (6:01)
An easy six-string, a harmonica, and a story about weakness. Rose first wakes up with the birds, angry at the interruption into a reality she'd rather escape. She could escape with the horse in the yard and ride back to where things were right with her and her man. But her man is weak and can't escape his addictions and mistakes. He tells her he can change, he can be a good man, but she knows it's a lie. And as she is chagrined to tell us, "there's no weaker thing than a woman, who loves a man that lies."

but i hold him close and i mean it
'cause i know tonight i'll be dreamin
and he'll say
i finally know what it takes
i'm gunna be a good man...


9. Bloc Party - Silent Alarm - 05 - Blue Light (2:47)
You'll find it hiding in shadows
You'll find it hiding in cupboards
It will walk you home safe every night
It will help you remember

If that's way it is
Then that's the way it is

I still feel you and the taste of cigarettes
What could I ever run to
Just tell me it's tearing you apart
Just tell me you cannot sleep

And you didn't even notice
When the sky turned blue
And you couldn't tell the difference
Between me and you
And I nearly didn't notice
The gentlest feeling

You are the bluest light

So like the first two songs, this one you may have heard. At least the artist is not really that completely unknown. Silent Alarm was a fantastic album and all the songs were turned over to some of the best indie bands on the scene now to do a remix album. But it fit my acoustic mood for the month and it fit the semi-theme we've been using sparingly. That of weaknesses and mistakes and the difficulty of relationships and being with someone who is messed up or being the messed up person yourself. I love the lyrics in this song so much, but I'm not giving my interpretation because there's room for wider views and I wont narrow that for you.

10. Dayna Kurtz-Love Where Did You Go (3:32)
This one reminds me of some of the strong old black women of the first half of last century, like Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Etta James, Nina Simone and so on. The smokey voice gets me everytime. I wish I was a smoker for that reason. {and i love the smell, shh! dont tell.} Plus it's got the angle of being about a loser/cheater in a relationship.

i get high, when i get low
i ask why, but you don't know
the sink is full, the plants gone yellow
oh love, where did you go?

i've forgiven awful things
from lesser men, with weaker slings
their stingy love, their restless ways
oh love, where did you go?

i wonder where you are tonight
who gives you strength to stir my fight?
who holds your gaze in loves fresh eyes?
oh love, where did you go?

11. Ditty Bops-Ohh La La (3:52)
And now we've gone very dixie/country/twang/bluegrass with the Ditty Bops, but doesn't November feel like that? It does, admit it. You don't have to be ashamed to like bluegrass. I'm not. C'mon. Just a little is ok. I'll let you.

Was it the fighting was it the fist
Was it adventure with a jealous twist
Was it desire for another's kiss
What brought the house down

12. We Are Scientists-Nobody Move Nobody Get Hurt (3:10)
Ok, this is electric guitar, I admit. I'm sorry but... wait, why am I apologizing? It's my mix and I can do what I want. So this is one of the randy little numbers about offering yourself up for a little naughtiness, but it's a fun song and very indie with the "whoah oh oh", the quick hollow drums, and the simple guitar melodies.

my body is your body
i wont tell anybody
if you wanna use my body
go for it

13. Dogs Die in Hot Cars-I love you cause I have to (2:47)
And another really fun little indie rock song with a ska upswing that makes it perfect for hopping around and shouting. The singer sounds very 80's-early 90's ska and the band name is great. What more do you want?

i love you
i love you
i love you
i love you 'cause i have to

14. Kevn Kinney-Everythings so Different Now (4:21)
So we probably should bring it back to acoustic guitar now, but instead I'll give you one that feels acoustic even though it's not.

home is where the heart is
now i know that's true
'cause i just made a trip
to my old neighborhood

kimberly and nancy have moved away
i can't believe they cut down my old apple tree

don't go back to revisit places you've left. if you leave, leave for good. the memory will remain untarnished and forever yours.

15. Shane Bartell-Dont Believe Everything (2:58)
Ok, so we're back on track, acoustically. Can't you just imagine spinning under shedding trees with your arms outstretched? Remember sun shining through the mostly bare branches? Throwing leaves and making piles and unmaking them by falling backwards? Remember trusting whatever people said? And loving your sister and your cat and your teddy bear and yourself all the same? Imagine your biggest mistake was dropping a plate. What was rolling down a hill like? Can you make a snowman with less than an inch of snowfall? Can we just go back?

time is never perfect, till it doesn't need to be

16. Melissa Ferrick-Beijing (3:41)
Another artist you may know if you're into the heavy-feminist Ani Difranco followers. And aren't we all? She's not quite the lyricist that Difranco is, but she's got a similar style. Check her out.

I'm digging a hole
In my backyard
I hit a rock and sprung water
I dove in
And ended up in Beijing
Stole me a bike
Joined up with the monks
Because silence
Is worth more these days
Oh than AOL Time Warner
Or Martha Stewart stocks

If you can get it
Grab as much as you can
And hide it in your basement
For the next disaster
Silence for the next disaster

Oh and my guitar
Sounds so good
Because I can't tell you why
And if distance makes the heart grow fonder
Than oh look at you and I yea
Look at you and I

If you can get it
Grab as much as you can
And hide it in your basement
For the next disaster
A little perfection
During your disaster

So bring me down
To where I can't see
I'll pray for some medicine
Explain to you I'm lost
You said you're not lost, you're free
You said you're free baby
You're free
You said you're free

If you can get it
Grab as much as you can
And hide it in your basement
For the next disaster
Yea during your disasters

I'm digging a hole yeah I'm digging a hole

17. Ghosty-Big Surrender (4:29)
So I don't know how Ghosty figured out exactly what my major freak out was this November, but they wrote me this song to calm me down. Well, mainly to pick on my freaking out about it and in the process, make me realize I'm being stupid. I mean Adulthood is the Big Surrender. But it's not like we got it all figured out as youths. Youth is so idolized and overrated, I see that. But it's hard to let go. I do look at the future with optimism, but sometimes, especially this month, with the realization that I'll be 30 in five years and my life is over... yeah... see, it's hard to accept.

if you're lookin for a hand to hold
you know you are a long way off
if you're looking for a conversation
you know you are a long way off
stop searchin for more confusion
no one needs any more of that
no one cares what you've been doing
with ten million identical cats

and so ah ha ha ha ha ah..
we all act the same
ah ha ha ha ha ah..
we all grew up on the same street
ah ha ha ha ha ah..
packed in close together
ah ha ha ha ha ah..

so you really feel the hurt
when you reach out and touch my shirt
you don't have to be a pessimist
no, no

oh mary graduates today
and she doesn't know what to do
oh jean just wants a lover
but they're all hidden away from view
oh later they'll claim these were the best days
and they'll remember how sad they really were
adulthood's the big surrender
and it's strollin in slow but sure

and so ah ha ha ha ha ah..
celebrate your world
ah ha ha ha ha ah..
don't get scared just yet
ah ha ha ha ha ah..
it wont get any better with years
ah ha ha ha ha ah..

but you mock your innocence
you say ignorance was bliss
and you think you know much more
but you wont know any more
and it's hard to be an optimist
you just learn to be an optimist
you don't have to be a pessimist
no, no

18. Maplewood-Indian Summer (3:16)
This was the beginning of November, even though I'm throwing it towards the end of my mix. It's not a chronological look at November. It's not thematic or stylistic either. It's just a glimpse of my moods this month, which as I told you, were varied and jumpy. We had some really really warm days for fall. I found myself humming this tune.

from one to another, here to discover, indian summer

19. Gretchen Phillips-Swimming (6:38)
And now for the song I've been dying to share. I find it hilarious. Sure, it's very libidinous and completely sapphic. {girl-on-girl} But it's so funny. The one-sided conversation at the end? You just have to laugh. I don't know who will be offended, surely someone. But c'mon. It's so sarcastic and pathetic.

leave your little puppy and your child and come join me

20. Indie Again - 28 - Bell X1 - Volcano (4:33)
Yes, Volcano, as in Damien Rice's "Volcano". This probably wont be appreciated by those of you who don't have Damien Rice's album "O", but who is that? There can't be any of you left. "O" is possibly the best album to come out in the last 10 years. It certainly got a lot of airtime with me. I can't say "Volcano" was his best song from "O" but that's only because I can't pick a favorite and I refuse to try. They are all absolutely perfect, every one. This is Bell X1's interpretation and it's a little more acoustic and uptempo but the bass is changed and more prominently featured. The violins replaced by bells and the voice slightly less pained. It's not better than Rice's original. But if you can't get enough of "O", then this one should add to your Rice collection. And the song, either version, just feels like it should be an album closer. So here it is, closing my November.

don't throw yourself like that
in front of me

i kissed your mouth and back
is that all you need?


Posted by heydomsar
2005-11-20

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.