what, are we bees now?

So, I love www.newscientist.com. I'll probably be sharing my thoughts on a few of their articles as they come up. Like this one. I guess I've always wanted Einstein's papers explained to me through interpretive dance. Now I'll get the chance. But really people... come on.

"Of all the art forms that one can use to express the notion of here, now and what happens then, dance is probably the best. In some sense, there are ways you can represent equations by movement because they often describe movement. The equations and ideas in Einstein's papers are very dynamical."

If only I could have handed in my physics homework in high school in toe-shoes and a tutu. Those molar balance equations would have been much more fun.

I think this whole concept is completely foreign and rediculous to me but it's a good attempt at combining left- and right-brains. I need to attempt that more often. Can you carry on an in-depth discussion while drawing an intricate picture, or does your vocabulary shorten to grunts? That's one way to recognize the difficulty that the average person has with combining hemispheres. I usually fall back on the mathematical / logical / language centers of the brain and get completely stumped when I try to turn on my artistic / creative side. I think my playing music helps with that because music is so mathematical and pattern-based, yet it's artsy. Although when I attempt to improvise and create something new, I get back into that mental block. But I try.

But dancing out physics equations? Is that just a step too far?


Posted by heydomsar
2005-05-25

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.