Deadline: Another word for "Suggestion"...

Whew! Made it!

Breathless hellos to all of Dom's regular readers. I am Serena, the illustrious (*choke*) namesake of one of the more barren sections of the Diaryverse, Serenaville.

Completely deleting years worth of one's archives on a whim, without saving them to disk or CD Rom first, will tend to have that unfortunate result. Yeah, who knew, huh? Luckily, or unluckily, there's a bit more to the space nowadays.

What sort of place is Serenaville?

Well, rejecting the more scurrilous rumors out of hand, I like to think the following passage from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland rather sums things up nicely:


"But I don't want to go among mad people," Alice remarked.

"Oh, you ca'n't help that," said the Cat: "we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad."

"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.

"You must be," said the Cat, "or you wouldn't have come here."


Heh.

What has all that to do with the one song that means the most to me, and why?

Absolutely nothing, of course.

Had you been paying the least bit of attention back there, the answer should really come as no shock. It doesn't do to be so fixated on your own questions, you utterly miss pertinent information right under your nose, you know. Mwah!

The fact of the matter is, the one song that means the most to me (And NOT in a good way) is tied to a memory so deeply personal and soul-wrenchingly painful, I regret I can't share it here with you all today.

[I know, I know. It's wicked of me to pique your burning curiosity that way. Especially without using lube. I'm just "cruel and unusual" like that, I guess.]

Not wanting to further demur, or totally beg off the assignment, given Dom's graciousness in extending the invitation to provide a Guest Entry in his diary... I have taken another tack, and decided to go with one of the songs that means the most to me in a good way:

My (Second) Wedding March Song.

...

GET BACK HERE, RIGHT THIS INSTANT!!!!

When I married my second-and-definitely-LAST-even-if-it-[No swearing, no swearing, no swearing!]goshdarn-KILLS-me (Ahem) beloved husband Mook four years ago, I didn't want to walk down the aisle to a traditional wedding march.

I did that the first time (To Trumpet Voluntary, by Henry Purcell. Also known as "The Prince of Denmark's March", by Jeremiah Clarke), and we can all see where THAT got me.

No, this time I was going to make my grand entrance to a song that bespoke the high emotion of the occasion in a different way. A song with supremely eloquent lyrics accurately expressing all that was inside my brimming soul. A song that would stand the test of time, just like my relationship with my new husband. Not just any song, but THE song that would stir the blood, melt the hearts, and mist the eyes of all who heard its majestic strains. YES!!!

[Insulin injections available by the door. No pushing, shoving, elbowing, or needle sharing!!]

I painstakingly timed and choreographed the entrances of my sister (Maid of Honor), and two eldest daughters (Honor Attendants), saving my appearance for the dramatic crescendo... each step down the aisle on my father's arm mapped out beforehand with military precision and a sickening amount of perfectionistic "practice runs".

It all went without a hitch.

To this day, whenever I hear that song, my throat seizes up a little. It might be acid reflux, but I prefer to think it's my profound sentimentality coming to the fore.

I reminisce about that late-April day, and envision the wonderful man waiting so hopefully and nervously at the end of that aisle. I think about the years we've shared: Bringing two young daughters into the world nineteen months apart, moving to another city for two years and then moving back home, growing and changing as people -though not necessarily together, working and living and loving the best we can with what we've got, picking up his frickin' socks off the floor and waiting for him to finish myriad projects around the house he started then abandoned eons ago and enduring his endless piles of crap around the house...

Errrrm. Sorry! I need more chicory in my diet. *cough*

When I hear that song, I remember all the reasons I fell in love with that man those eight years ago. I remember that "feeling". I remember all the things I should never have forgotten, or lost sight of. I remember not to forget again.

I remember... I remember...

Then, I decide I'll still keep him.

All over again.


"From This Moment On"
Come On Over, Shania Twain
Written by Shania Twain and Mutt Lange.

(I do swear that I'll always be there. I'd give anything and everything and I will always care. Through weakness and strength, happiness and sorrow, for better or worse, I will love you with every beat of my heart.)

From this moment life has begun
From this moment you are the one
Right beside you is where I belong
From this moment on

From this moment I have been blessed
I live only for your happiness
And for your love I'd give my last breath
From this moment on

I give my hand to you with all my heart
Can't wait to live my life with you, can't wait to start
You and I will never be apart
My dreams came true because of you

From this moment as long as I live
I will love you, I promise you this
There is nothing I wouldn't give
From this moment on

You're the reason I believe in love
And you're the answer to my prayers from up above
All we need is just the two of us
My dreams came true because of you

From this moment as long as I live
I will love you, I promise you this
From this moment
I will love you as long as I live
From this moment on



Posted by serenaville
Monday, May. 22, 2006

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.