chicago

How often does a guy like me get to take out two smart, beautiful chicks at once?  Well, yesterday was my lucky day.


Yes, Rachel is picking her nose.  She had just said something brilliant and insightful on the car ride to the city, but the nose-picking had to be documented for posterity.


Talia quit picking her nose when she suspected I would snap this shot.  It was taken from behind my right shoulder while I was facing the other way and driving.  I'm not good at the blind point and click so I'm surprised I got any of her in the frame.


Mastering the fine Japanese art of Chopsticking at Nohana's on Broadway and Belmont, the old stomping grounds.


When I lived there, every visitor was dragged to Nohana's for the combo plates: Miso soup, cucumber salad, 9 sushi rolls with caviar, 6 piece tempura selection, cabbage salad, sashimi or a meat entree, rice, and more for about 11 bucks.


And then on to the Galway Arms on Clark for drinks and dessert.  Awesome Irish Pub that looks and feels like a castle.  We sat right by the roaring fireplace in a corner booth.  It being corner shaped was some big thrill that I didn't understand.


And yes, Talia is double-fisting her dessert entrees.  She ordered two.  A Guinness Cr�me Brule and a slice of Baileys Irish Cheesecake.  How cool is that?


We played the pub quiz game, only we came in during the 4th round out of maybe 8.  Still, after totaling all the points, we had a 32 and the winning team only had a 37, so if we had made it 1 round earlier, we would have won some free beer.  :(


I'm just fine, no one was drunk here, I just tend to blink at inopportune moments.


There, see.  Eyes open and all gorgeous and everything.


Rae going for some artsy fartsy shots.


And experimenting with the digital camera settins.


The warm glow of the fireplace on a cold winter's night.


Caught pondering the meaning of life... or whether or not to have another pint.


No, that is her elbow.  Come on, now.


She lost the dare because she failed to swallow down the last bite of her second dessert... and lick the plate clean.


I really like this shot.


Another attempt at something artsy but the camera was just not cooperating.


Or maybe we shouldn't try to operate complicated technology after alcohol consumption.


Michigan Ave was all lit up.  This the Water Tower under a canopy of twinkle lights.


And a stop sign?  I don't know why we took this.


Bandara was closed so we headed over to the Red Head Piano Bar.  It was mostly loud Elton John tunes that night, so we spent the rest of the evening talking in the back.


Oh, and trying different martinis, did I mention that?  Fruity, girly ones for Rae.


Chocolatey, coffee ones for Talia.


And stiff, manly ones for me.


The Sir Elton impersonator.


It was a cool view down Michigan Ave so I stopped as we crossed the street to take a shot, ignoring the traffic zooming up behind me.


And even with the brightness turned up, this shot didn't make it.  But it was these 3 weird statues playing ball or something.


So the girls crawled under the enormous crotch.  There may have been alcohol involved before this point.  I'm not sure.

 

But as usual, a good time was had by all.  Seriously made me miss the area and renewed my interest in moving back.  And the company couldn't have been finer.  Thank you girls!


Posted by heydomsar
2005-11-25

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.