I Melt With You

Before Ritz cracker commercials; before remixes with more-easily-understood vocals, there was a lovely, New-Agey, Cockney-intensive song called I Melt With You.

There's nothing you and I won't do;
I'll stop the world and melt with you.

Modern English summed up every romantic notion I'd ever had up to that point in my young life (I was preteen when it came out) and I was desperate to be the pretty Valley Girl with Nicholas Cage bringing the True Love Forever.

If I'd been a couple of years younger, this would probably have been about Peter Gabriel's In Your Eyes and I'd've been waiting for John Cusack instead of la Cage. However, by the time Say Anything came out, I'd had my heart broken at least once and was wearing my cynicism like a black armband.

It's more than twenty years since Modern English baffled me with their pronunciations of "human rice" (human race)and "mission lice" (mesh and lace), but let that song come on and my heart still does the pitter-pat and I'm back on the beach with my little burgundy boom-box, wishing a cute boy would throw me in the water, but not so much that my big poufy bangs would go flat.

I will never be that innocent again.

I guess it's just as well they're using that song to sell NaBisCo products now.

Done by Golf Widow


Posted by golfwidow
05/06/2006

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.