A year of impact


This week was my 4 year blogiversary. So of course, I have to contemplate the benefits of being here over the last 4 years and spitting all of this stuff out on a public forum like this. Has it been worth it to me? To you? What were the benefits?

Now I know you are all enchanted and captivated by each and every one of my thrilling posts here, so that's obviously not the issue. The rest of it, I have to think about.

Meanwhile, my baby niece had an anniversary of her own... she turned one. It's been a great year because of her. And though I only see her once a week because she lives an hour away... I feel like we've actually made an impact on each other's lives. One of the times I babysat, I taught her to put things on her head. Now whenever I see her, we put things on our heads and crack up. Sweaters. Towels. Paper. Toys. It's the funniest thing for both of us. And if I never help mold her with anything positive as an uncle, at least we have that. So that'll come in handy for her in the future.

I also got her a hot wheels tricycle last night, which was one of my favorite toys as a kid. This one has a big piece that can attach and turn the bike into a rocking-horse-type-thing or it can flip up and become a push-cart for adults, like a stroller. She can't quite reach the pedals yet, so she just waddles around on it, but I can tell she's gunna grow up to be a biker chick. Her parents will be so proud. But at least I'll feel like I made an impact on her life and left a small mark on the world around me.

DSC02952

DSC02973



Posted by heydomsar
2008-06-11

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.