konfabulous

It's a dark 12:15am here in the middle of the US but the sun is coming up in Venice, Italy and it's beautiful. The bright pink glow is fading in the Piazza San Marco, while it's turning purple over the Ponte Rialto on the Grand Canal. I can see little ferries being filled with boxes in the crowded, back-alley, waterways and .. oh.. the streetlights just went off now that it's pretty light out.

True, I'm incredibly excited to be taking a trip there in May, but I haven't gone crazy and started imagining I'm there already. You can watch any of your favorite cities on webcam!

If you use a Mac {and by my stats, that's 8 readers, or 4.17% of you} then you already know about widgets. but for the rest of us... Widgets are these neat little Mac applications that run on the desktop.. or whatever the Apple version of the desktop is. There's the regular ones like a calender that links to your Outlook calender, the local weather, your wifi signal strength, your stock quotes, bla bla bla.. I actually don't like anything on my desktop. I removed all icons because they block and muddy-up my background image. I really like the artsy fartsy pictures I steal from different artsy fartsy sites and have them rotating every 10 minutes on my desktop.

But anyway, the webcam widgets you can get that display interesting views from several cities around the globe were too much to pass up. I feel like I'm already there in a gondola and a black and white striped shirt.

PC users can get these webcams and all other widgets with the Konfabulator which is an awesum name, btw. My friend Jourdan sent me the linkage because he had made his own J-Dub widget that parses the headlines from www.jw-media.org and tickers them on my desktop, which is cool. But I'm most excited about my Venice webcam widget. Although, seeing the sunrise and people all bustling off to work or shopping when it's bedtime here is really messing with my bio-clock. I keep looking at my clock and surprising myself because it feels like time to get up. Konfabulous!


Posted by heydomsar
2005-11-30

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.