pandora's box of records

The name Pandora means "all gifted" in Greek. In ancient Greek mythology, Pandora received many gifts from the Gods, including the gift of music, from Apollo. She was also, as we all know, very curious. Unlike those Gods of old, however, we celebrate that virtue and have made it our mission to reward the musically curious among us with a never-ending experience of music discovery.

~Pandora

My musical curiousity is insatiable. There's just so much out there, it's overwhelming. But I don't have time to download everything I can get my hands on and test it out. And the internet radio stations are cool, but they are still someone else's taste and rarely match up well with my own. That's why I like Pandora. You start by telling the little web-based app an Artist or Song you like. Then it plays more songs and bands like that one. Then you can refine it's choices by telling it if you liked the suggestion or not. Keep giving it more songs and artists to match up and pretty soon you've got your own radio station with nothing but music that you'll like, even if you've never heard it before. That's pure gold.

So follow the above link to sart your own station, or you can click below to start with my station and tweak it from there.

Dom's Radio Station

I started out with the following varied artists and have been tweaking since then.

Rilo Kiley
Jeff Buckley
Lamb
Jill Scott
Bjork

I've found a ton of new stuff with Pandora, and the the times I'm pushing "I don't like it" are rarer and rarer. How cool is that?


Posted by heydomsar
2005-12-02

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.