Remember all that whining? Just forget all that.

You know what? Enough feeling crappy about friends that are no longer friends. I was just going through some pictures and cracking myself up over good memories and perfect moments with amazing friends. I realized that whining about the bad ones is unfair to all the awesome people that have come into my life and are still close. These friends rock. They are good people. They are a testimony to the idea that friendships don't have to ever end if you both don't want them to end. I hope I can always be as good to them as they are to me.

One of the first groups of great friends that came to mind was the 5 of us from my North Carolina trip 2 weeks ago. Mandy, Fubby, and I went down to NC to visit Adam and Vania who had moved away years ago and I just never had the circumstances to see them. But I was so glad I was finally ready. Adam was one of my very best friends when he lived here. We were in a band together and hung out all the time. He's the kind of friend that you can just call up and say "I'm not doing anything... what are you up to?" And suddenly we'd end up in Chicago until 2am. But the best part is that I found out he is still that kind of friend.

The girls were awesome too... Adam's wife Vania is the perfect mix of fun and loving, as well as adventurous and spiritual. And daily I find myself grateful that Mandy and Fubby are in my life to keep me young and goofy, affectionately teasing as if they were my sisters. I could easily find myself marrying someone just like these 3 girls. I stood up in their weddings and I hope they will share in mine someday.

If you want to get a glimpse of all the fun, check out my NC set on Flickr:

North Carolina with my best friends


Here's a few of the many highlights:

US National Whitewater Center
We went White Water Rafting at the Olympic training facility and never tipped once! We even did the difficult course backwards. We're very good at following directions.


US National Whitewater Center
This is called "surfing". You ride a standing rapid and hope no one falls out... Oops! Where'd Mandy and Fubby go?


Goofy
We hiked Chimney Rock, which is basically a huge jungle-gym on/in a mountain. We had such a blast being totally retarded.


Adam at Needle's eye


The poetry of the earth...


Save me!
I was a big dork and was hanging off the edge of this cliff that was hundreds and hundreds of feet above the trees below. The girls were scared and decided they couldn't watch and ran off without me.


Saving Adam's life
Besides being awesome friends, these girls have superpower strength and held up the whole mountain while Adam sneaked through.


Inspiration Point
"Inspiration" no kidding. I want to be just like him.


Chimney Rock


Too much moonshine
We found the moonshine cave! And had a little too much fun.


Playing Rock Band
As with a lot of my friends, we really connect over music. Rock Band is the best game I've ever played. We spent hours and hours over 5 days beating it together.


Downtown Charlotte
They made Charlotte so much fun. I could really see myself living there.

If you know these kids, I totally recommend heading down for a visit. It was such a blast. Now I don't know why I ever wondered if I can make lasting, close friends. I have some of the best friends in the world. I wish I had time to make a post about each of you, but you should know that I appreciate the heck out of you and I'm going to try to show it more often.



Posted by heydomsar
2007-12-12

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.