Lions and Tigers and Polar Bears, Oh My.


November is going well so far. The Autumn Adventure in the Corn Maze was perfect, as was a little bit of prank pay-back I exacted on a friend. Either they'll think twice about starting something with me next time, or it will only escalate from here until someone is hospitalized. We'll see. I'll get the pictures and stories out soon.

Then I jet off to North Carolina in less than 2 weeks to visit a good buddy for 5 days. Supposedly they have a large indoor white-water rafting facility in his city, so that will be awesome, of course. I've never done any real white-water rafting so if doing it indoors isn't really as cool as outdoors, I'll never know. At least I hope it will be warm. I'm not too fond of freezing cold. (This will be overcome soon if you keep reading.)

Then December will be crazy. I will mostly likely not blog in December. I also will probably not be seeing any of you socially all that often. I've decided to commit 50 hours in December to a voluntary education work. I work full-time and have side-jobs, so I'll be using all of my weekend and many evenings to get in my hours. I've done it before and had a blast, so I'm not too worried. It's hard work, especially in the winter, but it's always worth it. If anyone wants to support/join me, let me know!

Then, when it's all over, I'm going to celebrate by joining the Polar Bear Club.

Yes, on Saturday, January 1st, at noon o' clock, I and hundreds of other crazy Milwaukeeans will be at Bradford Beach, making a mad dash into the near-freezing waters of Lake Michigan. I fully expect much shrieking and crying and jumping and high-fives and shrinkage and turning purple and shivering for 5 days. But it's one of those things that you just have to do to prove you are alive. And insane.

Let's hope there's not a blizzard that day!

If you want to join me on that, you're welcome to come. My group will be spicing things up a bit, and I don't just mean we'll be hitting the hooch (although we will, because how else can you survive this?). I mean, we'll be dressing up. We haven't come to a consensus on a theme yet. Maybe just crazy hats? Or funny characters? (I'd be the old perv from Family Guy with the blue robe, walker, and diapers.) Or maybe we'll all be ninjas? I'm not sure. Any suggestions?


UPDATE: Oops. January 1st is a Tuesday, not a Saturday. So mark your calendars for noon on Tuesday 1/1/08.


Posted by heydomsar
2007-11-09

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.