DandDTeacher picks a dandy of a song

Hello all! You can call me Rachel - DandDTeacher if you're nasty! Like so many of you I had a truly difficult time trying to pick one song as my absolute favorite, the most important song in my life. Pop songs from my adolescence didn't seem to quite live up that title (though I did consider More Than Words despite Scott's hatred of it), nor did classical music (Rhapsody in Blue was the top contender here), and there were too many meaningful hymns to even begin to have a favorite. Last weekend I even spent a large portion of my road trip discussing this topic with my sister, who exclaimed, "You can only pick ONE song? Sheesh! Who is this guy?!"

But then the other day it hit me. I realized which one song has meant the most to me. Are you ready? Drum roll, please...

The Lion Sleeps Tonight

I know, I know, we have no clue what the lion sleeping in the jungle has to do with anything, but it's not my favorite for lyrical or musical reasons. It's my favorite for sentimental ones. Throughout my childhood the bedtime ritual was as follows:

  1. Put on pajamas.

  2. Brush teeth.

  3. Get a sip of water.

  4. Go to the bathroom one last time.

  5. Make sure to have hugged Mom, who had gone through said ritual with us.

  6. Get tucked in by Dad.

I know that list hasn't been much different from anyone else's list, but then on special occasions we'd beg for it, and Dad, standing in the hallway between our two bedroom doors, would start singing, "In the jungle the mighty jungle the lion sleeps tonight." Dad can't sing, so we'd start giggling. When he got to the chorus he had a dance that he'd do back and forth in front of our doors. We'd giggle more. Eventually we'd join in with the singing. Then Mom would come thundering down the hallway to scold all of us, Dad in particular for getting us riled up when we were supposed to be going to bed.

Yep, that's my favorite song.


Posted by danddteacher
Friday, May. 12, 2006

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.