"A friend is someone who knows all about you... and loves you anyway."

Hey, I'm confused about something and I could use a little advice.

Yes, it's basic human knowledge that I think everyone else knows but me. But don't roll your eyes, I've just never gotten the hang of it. It's one of those simple, unconscious, "it comes natural" things that I just wasn't blessed with. So help?

How do guys make/keep a guy best friend?


I have a healthy handful of guy friends. And I get along great with them all. We hang out. It's not awkward. But I still think I'm doing something wrong.

I'm just not real close with any of them. If I got married, I couldn't pick a best man. There's no one that would be that guy that's been there through thick and thin or knows all that much about me. No one stands out as any closer than any of my other guy friends. Is that weird?

I'm not complaining. I've been cool the way things are for 27 years. I do fine with girls and forming closer relationships that way. Eventually one of them will turn into a wife. I'm not looking to fix my friendships because my friends all rock and we tear it up together.

But I noticed something recently that made me come back to this subject and try to analyze what my hang-up is. I have these 2 guy friends that knew me separately and we always have an awesome time when we hang out but just on a normal friend level. Then I introduce them to each other and in one day, as I watch, they become instant best pals. Joking and being goofy and close in a normal male-bonding way that I've just never had. It was an immediate wake-up call... as if to say "what's wrong with me?"

I know some people just jive and it's cool that they found that click right away. But what was the magic secret? And should it take me 27+ years to find the same? Why do I keep going through this scenario?

Meh. Who knows. I don't want to make a big deal out of it, because it's not that big of a deal. It just seems weird to me to not have what almost all other guys seem to have in some way. If there was something I'm doing to keep people at a distance, I just would like to know so I could cut it out.

Meanwhile, there's always my old best friend Peewee.

Peewee


Posted by heydomsar
2007-09-10

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.