opus of the city

opus of the city
so my justification justifies me
and my excuses excuse me
and i leave you left alone
leaving me alone at last
lasting longer than i�d hoped
in the hopes of getting past

snow in the city floats in the air
like notes floating on a staff
the music staff of the city sounds
are sounds i hear in your behalf
because half of the two of us
was too much for us to bear

so a comfort now is all the noise
the noise of leaving you behind
the streets� sonatas are only joys
accented staccato by glowing signs

the crescendo of each high-rise tower
and allegro in the passing scurry
form a chorus singing, building power
drowning out old love and worry

it drowns in a taxicab ocean
waves of street lamps at night
and this sea is musical motion
conducted by traffic lights

green with life, they glow
green with envy as i go
i go along with the song
the song keeps me from being wrong

we were two of a kind
two of a very different kind
all i wanted was to stay
but i just couldn't stay blind

so my justification justifies me
and my excuses excuse me
and i leave you left alone
leaving me alone at last
lasting longer than i�d hoped
in the hopes of getting past

but the city in the end
is only friend to me
in the same way that i
chose you a �friend� to be

and while we wanted more
an ocean blue, a moving score
the movement is an uproar
the ocean only shore

so the cabs drown me in their ocean
pummeled by waves of streetlamps and signs
traffic lights red with their anger
punishing me for leaving behind

left behind is how i left you
how i hoped to let you go
escaping to the city
to find comfort in the snow

but the snow and magic melted now
the notes all left the staff
the song is a cappella
and it�s sung in your behalf

we were two of a kind.
two of a very different kind.
i would have said i loved you
if not for my mind

so my justification justifies me
and my excuses excuse me
and i leave you left alone
leaving me alone at last
lasting longer than i�d hoped
in the hopes of getting past


Posted by heydomsar
2006-12-07

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.