Day Four - In Transit

These few pics were actually from the day before my entry about Venice at night. They are from the drive down to Venice from Austria....

Castles in the Italian Alps

There's a million castles in Northern Italy


These are shot from the freeway


Every couple miles there's another.


On the way to Venice there were a ton.


Eventually, it was like.. yeah. whatever. another castle. so what. But they are all truly beautiful. 


Don't sleep on the drive down, you'll miss Europe! ;)


On the way down to Venice, we stopped for pizza in Verona...
Shakespeare's Juliet was from Verona, I think! 


Pizza in Verona and an Italian phrasebook...
This was the first time I had to use my Italian, so I was nervous, and in Verona, where we found pizza, there were no tourists so the waitress spoke zero English. But I didn't need the book. For some reason, she looked to me after everyone's order to interpret. Maybe I looked like a native Italian after not shaving for 6 days. 


Buffing out the spot in a stranger's SUV in the parking garage before Venice...
I was not used to that van's stick-shift. 


Waiting for the water taxi to Venice (which is an island).


On a water bus on the Grand Canal, heading to Venetian shores...

 

We'll be arriving shortly! ...


Posted by heydomsar
2006-06-27

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.