who is john galt?

I never would have thought it, but i'm actually living out Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged. At work, all the competent people involved in the project for which I've been hired have given up because of the project manager. They've all literally quit the project and moved to another department. It's sort of an intellectual version of going "on strike" because of being exploited. Only I have no John Galt to save me and take me a safe distance and watch the currupt system fall. I am the only person left holding up this project. The entire trans-continental railroad system is collapsing and I'm desperately holding my hand-lamp and sweating. I would go on strike as well, but the practicalities of that philosophy just don't work in the real world. There's always someone else to fill your shoes when you step down and then you're left to go hungry. Competency will always be exploited. All I can do is shrug my shoulders and ask, "who is john galt?"


Posted by heydomsar
2005-05-17

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.