Day Four ... more lessons learned in Venice

5/8/06

Venice, Italy
Alone in San Marco Square
1:42am


San Marco Shadows


San Marco Square after midnight rain


San Marco Lights


San Marco Square


Dark Thoughts

-- I need to work on looking people in the eyes in a way that feels right.

I know this comes natural for everyone else. But I can't seem to get it right. Tonight as I walked slowly in the rain, I crossed paths with people who pretended I wasn't there. And some who smiled or nodded politely. Some that gave sideways glances. A few looks down the nose or scrunched confused stares. And also a couple female attempts at connection.

I have no problems talking or interacting with females, but I always avert a connection. I lower my eyes. I find something wrong and I leave. Tonight I smiled and looked away. I also held a gaze unblinking until almost running her over. In each case, I'm sure something more was required of me. Interested or not, I know the socially-well-adjusted know the next step. But at least tonight has helped me see this problem.

 


A hotel on the Grand Canal


Grand Canal Lights


A hidden well in a dark corner

 

-- I need to learn how to bear complaining and whining and negativity with compassion and understanding and patience. I need to teach myself not to look down on other people with dispositions unlike mine.

 


Lush


Gateways to Alleyways


Alley Arch


Alleyway


Across the Grand Canal


Narrow Streets
(I had to walk sideways down some alleys)

 

-- I need to learn how to drive a stick shift without scratching other cars.

 


City Lights


Quiet Canals


Dark and alone


Posted by heydomsar
2006-06-22

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.