midlake

One of my top 3 favorite albums from 2006 was Midlake's "The Trials of Van Occupanther". There's something very nostalgic about it for me. It reminds me of the 70's influenced bands my parents had on when I was young. But add the vocal harmony and lo-fi 'quaintness' of a town troubadour. You'll understand what I mean, if you watch the videos... there's just this distinct "70's nostalgia for the turn-of-the-last-century" vibe, while maintaining modern indie rock sensibilities. But however you want to label Midlake, they've quickly become my most-played band for the last of couple months. They're not the kind catchy of songs you'll sing in the shower, but it's still an album you'll keep playing because the vibe is right.

So I'm really disappointed that I will have to miss the show in Chicago this Wednesday night. If you are free, I recommend checking them out. They've created little early-1900's styled video vignettes to play on a screen behind the band, so I'm sure it's a real captivating show.

If you're like me and can't go, we can enjoy the music with the backdrops, courtesy of youTube...

Here's a music video for "Young Bride"

Rosco (Show backdrop for my favorite song)

Head Home (Show backdrop)

Bandits

We Gathered In Spring

Van Occupanther

It Covers the Hillside (Winning Fan Video)


Posted by heydomsar
2007-02-12

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.