That's just how dreams are.

Finally the fun-filled, action packed, exciting week of much stress and head-explosion has come to its fascinating conclusion. Somehow, everyone (except my stereo and back window) seems to have survived.


Why is there such a chill in this car?

Something's missing... hmm.

Thieving thieves and their meth addiction. How am I going to sing along to "She thi
nks my tractor's sexy" while I'm alone in my car now?

So Dad's back home from the hospital after 9 days of scaring us with his funeral plans, extended meaningful goodbye handholding, and green bile vomiting. Now, he's on orders for meds by mouth and bedrest, but of course, he doesn't listen to doctors and went to work a full week.

But it's a big load off my mind.

The weekend was unsarcastically great for that as well. A coworker left the company on Friday, so we had a beer or three with her after work. Then I met 30 friends at Japanica for sushi/hibachi. That was thoroughly entertaining.


Here's half of them. We'll get the hang of these chopsticks yet.

Saturday, 12 of us went to African Hut for dinner. Those Africans sure know their spices. And how to make your mouth go numb and cause vision loss from the unbearably spicy hot chicken wings. The cornbread, however, may be the best cornbread this side of vanilla white cake.


How spicy is that? Zero.
Your zero is my ten.
Ten, then.


Mark palms the palm wine.


Emu palm wine is not aged, treated, or processedin any way. It ages in the tree and is bottled directly.


Mindimindim. (Swahili for ice cream sundae at African Hut)

Then we all ran over the river to the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra. I'm not smart or cultured enough to speak intelligently about any of it, but I had a great time. Sara Chang was the solo violinist for a Shostakovich piece. And then we had some selections from Scheherazade. The part that I found interesting was watching the conductor. I have no knowledge of conductors to say whether or not he was any good or unique or if he was even on the right song, but I found the gentle arm-flailing quite mesmerizing and good for my shaky nerves.


The Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra

Especially during a few movements of the Scheherazade piece, I found myself imagining the music -- not like some mouse directing mops in Fantasia, but like I was tripping in the '60s on some ethereal, existential music video in my head.

It was just kind of mind bending to watch the conductor and hear the music and feel the emotions, but all as seperate experiences. Maybe this is how it's done, but his hands would rise and plunge just a second before the music would follow. His hand would soar and then halt in a fist and nearly a second later, the orchestra exhales and then abruptly holds its breath. He turns to the side and his fingers start dancing a second before the oboe trills playfully. His graceful movements pulled the whole hall through time itself as we watched the future, only a second away.

I can't create those kinds of visions for you here. You know that dream where you're falling... and then you're flying? And then maybe you're not even yourself. Or the person you're with changes, and then is faceless, and then is you? At some point, it's the sea. Or it's your highschool. Then the sky. The treehouse where you had your first kiss. Your boss. A ribbon. A color. A feeling.

It was fleeting, but peaceful. And I needed that this week.


Posted by heydomsar
2007-01-29

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.