2006 Blog Of The Year

So here's my End-O-Year Blog Roundup.
Follow links to some of my posts from 2006.
Then fill this out yourself.

1) Was 2006 a good year for you?
I enjoyed it, thanks for asking!

2) What was your favorite moment of the year?
Stand-outs are the night I walked the back-alleys of Venice in the rain, camping with good buddies, moving into my new pad, seeing Sufjan, and finally rejoining the working class.

3) What was your least favorite moment of the year?
Watching my grandmother's heart stop beating. That was pretty not cool, why'd you have to bring it up?

4) Where were you when 2006 began?
Lip-locked with my New Year's Eve date? No probably not, actually. I can't even remember what I was doing that night. But around that time, my grandpa was fighting cancer and my cousin was in a coma, so I was probably at the hospital.

5) Who were you with?
I wasn't "with" anyone. But I was certainly spending time with friends and family and an imaginary pet llama named Paul.

6) Where will you be when 2006 ends?
The party I'll be at is actually a Texas Hold'em tournie, so I'll be sitting pretty and taking everyone's money, naturally.

7) Who will you be with when 2006 ends?
I'll be with all of you, deep in your hearts. And also outside your windows with binoculars.

8) Did you keep your new years resolution of 2006?
I intended to become the president of a multi-national company, have the leader of a small nation assasinated, end poverty, and eat more spam. I think I did pretty well on all my goals.

9) Do you have a new years resolution for 2007?
Be it here resolved that I will fulfill this resolution no matter what.

10) Did you breakup with anyone in 2006?
I had a near-breakup or two, but narrowly avoided them by never actually seriously dating them in the first place.

11) Did you make any new friends in 2006?
I have too many friends already. I attempted to narrow them down a few by hiring a hitman, but the hitman tried to be my friend so I had to kill him.

12) Who are your favorite new friends?
There's this really cool new person that I haven't even actually officially met yet, but I am really excited and can't wait until May 17th when we will be introduced.

18) What was your favorite month of 2006?
May is always the coolest month, just because we can hang and be like "what up, bro" and May doesn't even need to say anything and I know exactly where he's coming from.. but this year May was all like "dude, I love you man" and it got a little weird for a while there, but we're cool now and I know May really meant it all for the best.

19) Did you travel outside of the USA in 2006?
I did. Besides Europe, I also traveled to my happy place, and had an extended stay at the Windmills of My Mind.

20) How many different states did you travel to in 2006?
Well let's see, there was the state of Bliss, the state of Confusion, the state of the Union, and Illinois.

21) Did you lose anybody close to you in 2006?
There were a couple funerals that hit me hard, even though I wasn't especially close to the people that passed away.

22) Did you miss anybody in the past year?
Yeah, I was aiming the pie right at one friend's face and I totally missed and hit this old lady who was walking her poodle down ... oh, did I miss anybody... Well, unfortunately, my guest bloggers were a bunch of jerks and made me write about my most meaningful song which made me completely miss Carla until I could hardly bear it.

23) What was your favorite movie that you saw in 2006?
I've seen a ton of cool indie flicks that I liked that most people have never heard of. Also Abigal was my favorite short and I rewatched these but my favorite new movie so far is The Fountain. But that may change since I'm hosting a Winter NoSundance Film Festival and plan on being blown away by more artsy-fartsy indie foreign flicks.

24) What was your favorite song from 2006?
"Cheer's Darlin" ~Damien Rice, from "O"

25) What was your favorite record from 2006?
My favorites released in 2006 in no particular order...

Beirut - Gulag Orkestar
Band of Horses - Everything All The Time
Sufjan Stevens - The Avalanche
The Knife - Silent Shout
Hot Chip - The Warning
My Brightest Diamond - Bring Me The Workhorse
Gnarls Barkley - Crazy
The Fray - How to Save a Life
Grizzly Bear - Yellow House
Thom Yorke - The Eraser
TV on the Radio - Return To Cookie Mountain
The Flaming Lips - At War With The Mystics
Final Fantasy - He Poos Clouds
Islands - Return to the Sea
Margot and The Nuclear So & So's - The Dust of Retreat
Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan - Ballad of the Broken Sea
Jenny Lewis - Rabbit Fur Coat
Camera Obscura - Let's Get Out Of This Country
Herbert - Scale
Cat Power - The Greatest
Justin Timberlake - FuterSex/LoveSounds
Peter Bjorn and John - Writer's Block
Phoenix - It's Never Been Like That
Damien Rice - 9 Crimes

26) How many concerts did you see in 2006?
Imogen Heap (the first time), Flogging Molly and Wilco, Mike Doughty and Floetry and The Fray, Fiona Apple and Damien Rice, Phoenix, Band of Horses, Sufjan Stevens, Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twins, Ani DiFranco, DevotchKa and My Brightest Diamond , King Solomon (twice), Carey Brothers and the Hotel Cafe Tour, Citizen Cope, The Islands, and Imogen Heap again. That's like 20 or something. Plus local bands that play while I'm shooting pool downstairs or whatever. And then my band played like 10 gigs this year. Does that count?

27) Did you have a favorite concert in 2006?
Sufi will be my number one favorite for a long time to come. Nothing else even comes close.

28) Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2006?
What are you trying to say? I thought we were friends. This is so not cool. Is this some sort of intervention?

29) Did you do a lot of drugs in 2006?
What do you consider "a lot" ?

30) How many people did you kiss in 2006?
There are still a few days left... we have time!

31) Did you do anything you are ashamed of this year?
Well, now I'm ashamed of not kissing much this year. And how old are you anyway? This is starting to sound a little 13 year-old, myspacey.

33) What was the worst lie someone told you in 2006?
Portishead told me to expect the new album this year, and that's what they've been saying for like 10 years while I wait for that thing to come out and now they say 2007.

34) Did you treat somebody badly in 2006?
I would never. But if you do have a bone to pick with me, you can see our complaints department and someone will get back to you shortly. Please hold on the line. Your call is important to us.

35) Did somebody treat you badly in 2006?
No actually, no one has. Well there was this one thing that I overheard one time which really hurt, but the thing with me is that I get over stuff easily. There's no one I can think of right now that I have any beef with. I generally get along with and like everybody. So thanks kids, you've been a peach!

36) How much money did you spend in 2006?
All of it. Everything I made so far. Or are you looking for a number here? Because this was kind of the year of big purchases for me. Europe was like the most I've ever spent in one crack. Then the loft downtown is kind of a big commitment. And I got a car. And a new PC. And a schmancy PDA/phone. And all sorts of junk. Thank you, brand new desk job!

37) What was your proudest moment of 2006?
For the longest time, Stace was like my little sister and this year she grew up and turned into this whole married woman thing which was weird to see, but also kind of cool in that way-to-go you-did-it I'm-proud-of-you kind of way.

38) What was your most embarrassing moment of 2006?
Tell me yours and I'll tell you mine. Maybe.

39) If you could go back in time to any moment of 2006 and change it what would it be?
See #38.

40) Compared to this time last year, are you:
Happier or sadder?
I'm happier, but I wasn't sad then. Just a lot less things are going wrong now. Which is kind of cool.

Thinner or fatter?
I'm way fatter, which I love. Seriously, you should see. It's great. You can't see my bones or anything. Wanna see?

Richer or poorer?
I was broke then and with all the bills, I'm broke now, so about the same, but with more stuff.

41) What do you wish you'd done more of?
Writing.

42) What do you wish you'd done less of?
Weddings. Seriously, 20+ weddings in one year is enough to drive me to the looney bin.

43) What was your favourite TV program?
Quit spelling favorite like you're some snooty Brit. (or worse, Canadian!) (jk!) Anyway, the best show out there is The Office, of course. But I really like Heroes, Lost, Grey's Anatomy, Family Guy, and Scrubs.

44) What was the best book you read?
"A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius" by Dave Eggers was great. Also read: Palahniuk's "Lullaby", "Diary", "Haunted". Aldous Huxley's "Brave New World". Salinger's "The Catcher in the Rye" and "Nine Stories". And Michael Cunningham's "Specimen Days".

45) What was your greatest musical discovery?
My Brightest Diamond. (Sufjan was 2005)

46) How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
In need of some help. Thank you Ana, Sara, and Talia for each taking me shopping and telling me what to buy!

47) Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I'm not coming up with anything. I mean there's my big crush on Jenny Lewis. And my music crush on Sufjan. And my blog crush on Randall Monroe's XKCD. Do those count?

48) What political issue stirred you the most?
I'm actively neutral on most stuff, but I read Time magazine every week and there was this story about the Muslim boy who was captured and thrown in Guantanamo and tortured and it seriously could make you cry for this little baby-terrorist. What is the difference between him and his deluded family and the Catholics and their crusades?

49) Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006:
Don't take pictures of yourself in your underwear that can later be incriminating and embarrassing, no matter how funny it seems at the time.

50) Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Cheers darlin'
Here's to you and your lover boy
Cheers darlin'
I got years to wait around for you
Cheers darlin'
I've got your wedding bells in my ear
Cheers darlin'
You give me three cigarettes to smoke my tears away

And I die when you mention his name
And I lied, I should have kissed you
When we were running in the rain

What am I darlin'?
A whisper in your ear?
A piece of your cake?
What am I, darlin?
The boy you can forget?
Or your biggest mistake?

Cheers darlin'
Here's to you and your lover man
Cheers darlin'
I just hang around and eat from a can
Cheers darlin'
I got a ribbon of green on my guitar
Cheers darlin'
I got a beauty queen
To sit not very far from me

But I die when he comes around
To take you home
I'm too shy
I should have kissed you when we were alone

What am I darlin'?
A whisper in your ear?
A piece of your cake?
What am I, darlin?
The boy you can fear?
Or your biggest mistake?

Oh what am I? What am I darlin'?
I got years to wait...


Posted by heydomsar
2006-12-22

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.