the first day of autumn

the first day of autumn blows in
with gusts that laugh
at warmth
and colors of fire within
leaves a shade as fiery
as her grin

she blows through my hair
and echoes in my ears
summers long forgotten
seasoning
the best night of my life

at midnight on autumn�s eve
when I write these words
when I first met her
the day that she was born
I worry of the cold to come
wintry discontent
I remember the fall last time
lonely indoor nights long spent

but on the first day of autumn
the light lasts as long as dark
so I can tell the truth in time
or trust what isn�t said

one and the next day inconsistent
persistently resistant
impatient with the in-between
where all her answers lie

as the dew and frost
grow intimate
learning to overcome
trees fear
to lose their leaves
on the first day of autumn


Posted by heydomsar
2004-09-22

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.