i'll fly with you...

Hey kids, this is Derrick, Dom�s friendly d-land neighbor. It looks like Dom left me the keys to his shop, probably not a good idea on his part since I like to do silly things like drinking straight from the milk carton and putting it back in the fridge when there�s just a half a shot glass left. But, since I have free reign of his place for the day and since things have been a little heavy back in my own blog, I thought it would be a good chance to lighten things up a bit and perhaps give me a nice diversion.

To be honest, music hasn�t really been a big part of my life as of late. I guess my emotional state has been affected by so many other things that my subconscious has my guard up to the point where music doesn�t sway me like it used to. Still, I can�t say that music has never been part of my life. There are songs from the past that still move my soul, so I�m going to reach back a bit and try to share it with you all.

I was a child of the 80�s, back when MTV played nothing but back to back music videos. Although I didn�t quite have cable TV back then, whenever I visited friends or family that did have cable, we had it on MTV. "Video Killed the Radio Star" by the Buggles reminds me a lot of that time. My musical tastes jumped around quite a bit, hey it was the *bleep*ing 80�s, so there were lots of good stuff going on. I�d say my tastes were in the range of 80�s pop to 80�s new wave.

Going into high school, my tastes started shifting into House Music, or more specifically "old school" Chicago style house. That style of music was usually mixed by DJ�s and if it was on the radio it was on late night being mixed live, so I don�t really have titles or artist�s names and I�m too lazy to look them up, but words like; "Gotta have house, music, all night long", "House Train", "I pledge allegiance to the house grove", "Jack your body" came up frequently in their anthems.

Although, house music does bring back memories, I think the 80�s new wave music, which was often mixed into house music back in the day seems to sway me with the greatest magnitude. Let�s see, there were a bunch of songs by New Order; "True Faith", "Bizarre Love Triangle", "Blue Monday" and "Round and Round" that don�t seem to ever get old to me. Then there was "Don�t you forget about me" by OMD, "Chains of Love", "Oh L�amour", "A Little Respect" and "I Love to Hate You" by Erasure, "Just can�t get enough" by Depeche Mode, "Melt with You" by Modern English and just a whole huge laundry list of other songs.

If I had to pick one song that just brings it all back for me, it�s "Promise" by When in Rome. Actually, I do have to confess, I almost totally forgot about that song until I heard it at the end of the movie Napoleon Dynamite and I literally got tingles hearing that song again. I don�t know, I guess just reminds me of the time when I first fell in love and I had minimal cares other than just having fun.

There is one other song that gives me tingles in an almost haunting sort of way. On Friday, June 16, 2001 the day before my best friend and cousin Ray passed away he called me to hang out with him, which was fairly unusual because I haven�t really seen him in a while. For the most part, he was keeping busy with school and working for his mom and spending time his girlfriend(s), but like with all good friendships, we were able to pick up right where we left off. I remember it being a very warm and beautiful summer day, the kind where you just couldn�t stay inside. We hung out at the mall, had a bite to eat and just talked about life. Later that night we gathered a bunch of friends and we wound up going out and having a few drinks. The last moments I spent with him were a really nice time. Aside from doing everything in my power to actually prevent him from dying, I wouldn�t want to change any of those last moments spent with him.

Somewhere in between, on the last day I spent with him, he was telling me about a song he has been hearing on the radio, so he tuned in to that station. It must have been in heavy rotation because it came up around 20 to 30 minutes later, while we were driving. The song was "I�ll Fly With You" by Gigi D'Agostino. At the time I thought it was just a really cool song, but as time went on, it served as a vivid, almost haunting reminder of the last moments I spent with Ray. It�s almost if my mind time warps into that moment and there are moments when I listen to that song where I have difficulty holding back the tears because the feelings I have associated with it are just so overwhelming.

But yeah, there I go again starting off trying to make a lighthearted entry and then turning around and jumping way off the deep end. I should probably go over to the fridge, kill the last shot of milk and pick up a new carton for Dom. Oh and to Dom, thanks for letting me swing by your blog to poke around. It was a nice change of pace from my usual blogging.

We now return to your regularly scheduled program...


Posted by liquid-mojo
2006-05-08

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.