hello fellow readers.

i'm sorry, i've seen you around but we've not met. i'm dembrat. you are? that's ok. i'll carry the conversation for a minute...

i felt special when i found out i was tagged by dom. then i read the entry and realized that everyone he's ever met and never met was tagged, but despite that i still feel special to be tagged.

i couldn't think of a song so i tried to think of an album. that didn't work out too well either. i adore mason jennings, but that answer didn't feel right. i can't articulate why his music means so much to me. i grew up w. ccr and the beach boys and elton john, but those don't feel like my own. and i didn't want to choose a song that i associate w. love like oh promise me or reflecting light b.c it makes me feel like i'm trying to live in the future and i need to stay focused on enjoying the present and not just like i'm killing time waiting for things to happen.

so i choose frank sinatra's send in the clowns.

growing up, this was the one song my father would play on the piano. the live version is my favorite b.c he says his thoughts on the song before he sings it. this song captures my desire to love to the fullest, the cynicism i've adopted in life, and the tendency i have to "what if" everything, thinking there might be something better out there. but sometimes there's not and we lose what we started w.

Just when I stopped opening doors
Finally finding the one that I wanted - was yours
Making my entrance again with my usual flair
Sure of my lines - nobody there

this song will always remind me of my father and a much simpler time when i thought the song was all about the clowns.

well, it was nice to meet you, but it's late and i really must go. maybe we'll run into eachother again.


Posted by dembrat
2006-05-09

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.