ClassicRosie the Riveter


I had a conversation with the booty-queen a week ago and I couldn�t think of anything about myself I could appreciate. I�m not saying good qualities don�t exist in me, however caveats are a favored survival instinct of mine . Needless to say, until today I was not going to fulfill my assignment. Instead like I always did in school with homework I�d pass the pile to the front of the class missing a sheet of my ever dog-eared looseleaf paper. Already thinking if the teacher asked me later I would exclaim in wonderment and confusion �It�s not? I know I put it in there. Are you sure you didn�t lose it?�


Three years ago I worked in the home health field and had a client with a major medical emergency. At the time I was in the house but not on the clock. The staff working were at a loss as to how to take care of the emergency. I jumped into the fray and got the client into an ambulance and off to the hospital. I held his hand through the poking and prodding of the examination and the incredibly painful multiple x-rays he needed. I sat with him and made him smile when the nurse with the pain medication seemed like she�d been lost in the Sahara. I spent nine hours in that hospital and didn�t leave until he was sleeping soundly in a morphine cocoon of painlessness.


To sum it up what I like about myself with no caveats is I can hold myself together like an Army Major when I�m in the midst of a crisis. Of course when the adrenaline dissipates and the fatigue takes over I turn into limp, weepy pile of rags. But in the thick of it I reign supreme.


I�m the first in a situation to take charge and I think it�s that part of me which makes me a good sales person. I can and do project confidence when I speak. As every ordinary child I�ve had my share of arguments with my parents, however the majority of the successes I�ve accomplished had less to do with outright warfare and more with carefully crafted phrases determinedly rationalizing with them till they could swear they thought of it first. It�s not deceptive it�s working well under pressure.


I had an occasion today where I had to give a firm set down to another agent�s staff about ethics within the corporation. I was pleasant but firm, leaving no room for �yeah-but�s� or misinterpretation. By the end of the conversation I had used all the skills in my arsenal to smooth things over. Even if I didn�t succeed in shifting her focus to more ethical business dealings the conversation wasn�t for nought. I said what needed to be and sometimes honesty must be blunt.


My palms may sweat afterwards, my body may shake, and I may even cry eventually, but in those high pressure moments where the steps you take are crucial to eventual success or failure. Every time, I will come through.


Posted by classicrose
2007-01-16

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.