*tap tap tap* Is this thing on?

Hey out there in Dom-land! I'm La Blue Eyez... But you can call me Crystal.

I've thought about what song means the most to me or stands out most in my mind for the past couple of days. There's so many of them! But I narrowed it down to 2. One of them is My Way by Limp Bizkit. I decided not to use this song though. When my ex-husband and I were separated and we'd finally decided to get divorced, he brought this CD into my house and played that song loud and sung it at the top of his lungs. My ex-husband had a drug addiction and I had given him a choice. Him playing this song and singing it the way he did told me what his choice was... And it wasn't me (I later discovered this song was also perfect for me and that point in time in my life). But I'd rather not open that memory back up that wide.

So, I've chosen a song that pretty much made me feel like someone understood me as I was going through my teenage angst years.

Most females, when they�re young, dream about their wedding day. �I�m going to have a beautiful fluffy gown with puffy sleeves and lots of sparkles, my train will go on for miles! My husband will be tall and have dark hair and light eyes. We�ll have lots of flowers everywhere. After the wedding, we�re going to be whisked away in the biggest limousine you have ever seen and we will live happily ever after!�

At least that�s how my friends would always describe their dream of the big day. When I�d hear them talk about their wedding day, I�d often wonder what was wrong with me? I never dreamed of my wedding. I never dreamed of what my wedding dress would look like, what my husband would look like, much less I�d never dreamt of forever.

I always dreamed of love. That�s it. I used to dream that someday I�d have a man stare at me with such love in his eyes. His touch would be gentle and send tingles through my body. His words would be so kind; it would be as if they were holding me. He�d take me to an amusement park and hold my hand as we walked, and wrap his arms around me to comfort me on the scary rides. He�d buy me cotton candy and win a stuffed animal for me. That was what love was to me! (Hey! I was a kid, gimme a break!)

I was introduced to a song by Eric Clapton called, Wonderful Tonight when I was around the age of 14. As soon as I heard it, I thought to myself, That�s it! That�s what I have dreamt about! That�s the kind of love I�ve always dreamed of! I bought the cassette and played the song� Over and over and over again.

When my friends would hear the song, they�d always start talking about their wedding day. Sometimes they would even add in �and I�m going to play THIS song for our first dance!� I still didn�t get it. While they made plans for their future weddings, I would think about sitting in front of the fireplace drinking a Coke and sharing stories. My friends would talk about having a 3-karat diamond ring, I thought about riding in a horse drawn carriage in the winter cuddling together to keep warm. My friends would talk about how many children they were going to have and how many of them would be boys and how many would be girls. I would stop the cassette then. They were getting TOO far out there for me.

As an adult (by age at least) I still have the same ideas of love. I still don�t dream of my (second) wedding day. I still don�t dream of my (second) wedding ring. I know girls still dream of all of these things and go to great lengths to make their dreams come true. My friend G picked out her own wedding ring and guilted her fianc� into buying it for her, my sister Katrina already has her gown picked out and her ring as well (She's only 20 and doesn't have a boyfriend).

As for me, I�m still day dreaming of that love. The love described so elegantly in this song. I get lost in every word. When I feel lonely or down, I can listen to this song and it picks me back up. If ever there were a song that could make me feel sexy, this would be my #1. Eric Clapton�s Wonderful Tonight still makes my body tingle.

It�s late in the evening
She�s wondering what clothes to wear
She puts on her make up
And brushes her long blonde hair
And then she asks me
Do I look alright
And I say yes, you look wonderful tonight

We go a party
And everyone turns to see
This beautiful lady
That�s walking around with me
And then she asks me
Do you feel alright
And I say yes, I feel wonderful tonight

I feel wonderful
Because I see the love light in your eyes
And the wonder of it all
Is that you just don�t realize
How much I love you

It�s time to go home now
And I�ve got an aching head
So I give her the car keys
She helps me to bed
And then I tell her
As I turn out the light
I say my darling, you were wonderful tonight
Oh my darling, you were wonderful tonight


Posted by la-blue-eyez
Thursday, May. 11, 2006

go back | random brainstorm | go forth

Rachel Ray - 2009-05-03
The cold wind was the reason - 2009-03-02
The Collected Wisdom of Angela Chase - 2009-02-15
All's well that ends well. - 2009-01-07
In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. - 2008-10-04

recent comments




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from heydomsar. Make your own badge here.